Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Simple question Act2 Eh pH diagram

Hello,

Im really new to this. I am basically trying to replicate this Eh pH diagram as a learning process:

7PHgb5l.png

But i cant figure out how.

This is my graph i made with GWB student

5fSif2N.jpg

And the basis

XedqxbN.jpg

- What do the horizontal blue dotted lines represent on my graph?

- Why does my GWB graph show the water limits? when i try to turn on the water limits i get a error: reaction for H2(g) is missing; can not plot water limit. I am using the thermo_minteq data set for all the lanthanides.

- Why is my lanthanum free ion off on the pH so much? Am i not correctly inputting the carbonate. I added CO3-- in the 'in the presence of' section, is this correct? Or should i make it swap basis entry with La+++ as the diagram species?

- i guess the main thing is im not sure how to add other ligands such as carbonates, hydroxides, fluorides, etc. When i try to add them in they dont seem to work properly or resemble any of the other graphs with the same mineral system.

Thank you so much for any help,

Thanks

Guest Melika Sharifi

Dear Marcos,

Thanks for attaching a screenshot of your Act2 script. An easier way would be to use “Attach Files” and attach the script to your post. We looked into your script as well as the graph you are trying to make using Act2, and found a few points worth mentioning:

1. The blue dashed lines are called mosaic bounds showing the speciation of CO32-- with regard to your x-axis (pH). To know what they are, you can double click on the plot, check “mosaic labels” and carbonate species will be shown on the plot. You can get rid of the bounds by double clicking on your plot and uncheck “mosaic bounds”. For more information, please see section 5.3 in the GWB Essentials Guide that can be accessed from the Docs pane of the GWB Dashboard.