Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Error

Hi all,

I am trying to model the siderite dissolution in a brine under 50 atm CO2.

But, the program gives an error saying' N_R didnt converge after 999 iterations. What could be the cause? I am a newbie on this program.

Can someone help me out?

Thank you in advance.

Thank you Brian,

I did get the run. But this time I want the CO2 fugacity at 50 atm. But i dont know how to define it in the model. There are 2 options as far as i understood: 1. fixed fugacity (I guess it is fixed at only atmospheric CO2. 2. Sliding fugacity.

I dont want varying fugacity. How can I define set the CO2 fugacity at 50 atm.

I am attaching the react file.

Thanks again.

Regards,

Chans

siderite(kinetics)_exp1.rea

Hi Chance,

There are a few things that you should think about here. A CO2(g) fugacity of 50 is awfully tough to maintain at pH 8.5. At that pH, most of the carbonate system (the HCO3- component) is present as HCO3- and CO3--, but there is very little CO2(aq), so there can't be a very high CO2(g) fugacity (in a gas reservoir in equilibrium with the system). If you react CO2(g) with your initial water (by sliding the fugacity) you will lower the pH and dissolve Siderite, at least in an equilibrium system. You want to make sure that your numerical model reflects your conceptual model correctly.

As for your kinetic rate law, the rate constant is very, very low for the time span considered, and so the reaction rate would be incredibly slow.

Hope this helps,

Brian

Hi Brian,

Thank you for looking at my file. The pH=8.5 is the pH of initial brine. As the CO2(g) dissolves in the initial brine, I see that, in the model, the pH value is dropping to around 5 and more CO2 (aq) are being produced. So defining the CO2 fugacity as sliding at 50 atm is right?