Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Trying to calculate pH of solution at temp with gas addition

Hi, 

I'm brand new to geochemist workbench and I'm trying to figure out the best way to run this simulation. I'm trying to simulate the pH of a solution after I add a CO2 headspace at temperature.

The experimental setup is as follows: 

I mix 3 solutions, 10 mL of iron (ii) ph 8, 10 mL of sulfide pH 11, and 2.5 mL of nickel pH 8 in an argon hood. The iron, nickel and sulfide forms a ppt. I then add a some mL of CO2 headspace at room temp. Then the vials are stored in an 80 degree oven. 

What I'm struggling with is that each vial will have a different amount of CO2, but I want them to end up all at the same pH once at temp. I could adjust the pH at room temp after adding the CO2, but I expect the room temperature pH to be different than the pH at 80C. I was hoping to use geochemist workbench to model the pH of each vial at the final CO2 headspace and temp, and then figure out how much base to add to each vial to get it to pH 9.

Is this something that can be done in the program? I've been reading the tutorials, but I'm not quite sure how to best execute this. I'm also not sure the pH calculations in the program take into account temperature. 

Thanks!

Hi,

Before you dive in too deep with your own data, I think it would be a good idea to practice some of the skills you’ll need using examples from the User’s Guide. I think the most important parts of the problem are:

-defining the initial system (Sections 7.1 and 7.2 in the GWB Essentials Guide; Sections 2.1 and 2.3 in the GWB Reaction Modeling Guide)
-redox disequilibrium (Section 7.3 in the GWB Essentials Guide)
-sliding fugacity paths (Section 3.5 in the GWB Reaction Modeling Guide)
-picking up chemical systems (Section 3.9 in the GWB Reaction Modeling Guide)
-sliding temperature paths (Section 3.4 in the GWB Reaction Modeling Guide)