Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Activity O2 (Aq)

LJM

I'm a novice using this program, and realize this may be a simple question. I'm trying to create a very generalized redox-pH diagram that will help me understand the effect of changes in dissolved oxygen concentrations on the mobilization of chromium in groundwater. Using estimated concentrations of Cr6+ in groundwater at our site, I created the redox-pH diagram below. The current [O2]aq concentration in groundwater at the site is 4 mg/L, and is estimated to change to 8 mg/L due to the use of air sparging technology to remediate a different groundwater contaminant.

Unfortunately, I don't have more information regarding the concentrations of other dissolved constituents. So I've calculated the activity of O2(aq) for 4 mg/L assuming a very general activity coefficient of ~0.5. This gives me an O2(aq) activity of 6.3*10^-5, or roughly -4.2 on the y-axis of the attached diagram [log activity-O2(aq)]. My question is: are my assumptions correct? I'm confused because my understanding is that dissolved oxygen in groundwater generally ranges from 0 to 20 mg/L. How is it possible to obtain a value for log activity-02 aq greater than -30?

Please let me know if I've made an obvious blunder, or if there is a better way to approach this problem.

Thanks very much.

post-10283-060064100 1321589149_thumb.jpg

Hi,

A few things. Your assumption of an activity coefficient close to 0.5 for O2(aq) is not the best, although in the grand scheme of where that plots on your diagram (on a log scale), it is insignificant. Activity coefficients for electrically neutral, nonpolar species like O2(aq) actually go above 1 with incresing salinity, according to the "B-dot" activity model used within GWB programs. You may be familiar with the "salting out" effect in which gas solubility decreases with increasing salinity.