Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Pyrite Oxidation: Batch Reactor

Hi. I'm trying to model pyrite oxidation in a batch reactor (Liu et al 2008). Both pH and the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the system is held constant (at 3 and 9-12 ppm, respectively).

• pH is maintained by through discrete additions of HCl or NaOH
  • The concentration of dissolved oxygen was maintained by controlling the oxygen partial pressure in the reactor headspace

When I try to fix O2 in the Reactants window, I get a convergence error. As soon as I "unfix the O2", the program is able to arrive at a solution.

I'm new to GWB, so any advice is greatly appreciated! Many thanks, in advance, for your time!

PyriteOxidation_8June_v2.rea

Hello,

I'm trying to look at your script, but I notice a few issues/ omissions in the script. What unit are you using to constrain the mass of Pyrite? The time units of your simulation were not saved correctly (it says hou in your script). Perhaps GWB isn't saving your script correctly. Which version are you using?

Thanks,

Brian Farrell

Aqueous Solutions LLC

Hello,

I'm trying to look at your script, but I notice a few issues/ omissions in the script. What unit are you using to constrain the mass of Pyrite? The time units of your simulation were not saved correctly (it says hou in your script). Perhaps GWB isn't saving your script correctly. Which version are you using?

Thanks,

Brian Farrell

Aqueous Solutions LLC

Hi Brian,

Thanks for your help. I'm trying to model the experimental setup in Liu (2008). I used "grams" to constrain the mass of pyrite. I think the time units are correct: I want to see what Fe species are in solution after 24 hours. I tried to enter one of the rate laws calculated in the manuscript, but am having issues with how to deal with the oxygen.

I re-saved the script and attached the file. I also captured screen shots, if that helps. I'm using GWB 8.0 Pro. I checked for updates and the computer says I'm up to date.