Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Thermodynamic and methanogenesis. validation of calculation

Hello everyone,

I know perhaps this in not the right forum to ask this question but all the users are using GWB software and would be well versed with thermodynamics. So though this queries are nor related to GWB software, i would appreciate a help.

I am Mustafa Vohra, working on a project involving CO2 sequestration and methane production from coal. My works includes understanding microbial syntrophy in my consortia and production of methane from coal. I am microbiologist by nature and have some calculations on calculation of free energy for my reactions. After going through literature, I have finally calculated the free energy for my reactions but I need to validate it. So I am requesting you to go through my calculations and check for its correctness. Please don’t mind for some naïve questions since I am not an expert in it. Any help, suggestion, reference, guidance appreciated.

1) Calculation of partial pressure and mmoles of gases.

I do analysis of gas (CH4, H2 and CO2) with the help of GC. From the area, I calculate % of gas.

Eg.

• After 30 days of analysis, CH4 = 2.042% = % 0.02042

• The gauge pressure measured from needle manometer, after 30 days in bottle = 0.5 psi

Now 1 atm pressure =101.3 KPa =760mm Hg = 14.7 psi

Therefore, 0.5 psi = 0.5 x 101.3 = 3.44 KPa

• Absolute total pressure (PT) = Gauge pressure, KPa + Atmospheric pressure, KPa

= 3.44 KPa + 101.3 KPa

= 104.74 KPa

• CH4 gas partial pressure (PCH4)

PCH4 = % CH4 x PT

= 0.02042 x 104.74

= 2.138 KPa

My question is, whether in the calculations of partial pressure, should I include total pressure or guage pressure?

Thermodynamic calculations

Consider the following reaction

CH3COO- + H+ + 4H2O = 2HCO3+ + 2H+ + 4H2O

Calculation of ΔG

ΔG = ΔGo + RT ln{ [HCO3+]2 [H+]2 [pH2]4

/[CH3COO-] [H+] }

Query 1: Should I use ΔGo or ΔGoI :