Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Fe S O minerals and aq S species redox/pH

Hello,

I am running GWB 9 on Windows 7. I would like to make fO2 v pH diagrams for the Fe-S-O minerals (pyrite, pyrrhotite, magnetite and hematite), for the aqueous S species, and for K minerals (K-feldspar, musc and kaolinite). I am completely new to GWB, but have been using Act2 and managed to get the axes fine, but the minerals and species aren't showing up. So, in general I think I may not be using the basis field properly, I'm not sure whether to use an ion/aq species or a mineral?I tried looking at the examples and manual but still couldn't figure it out.(If I get this figured out in Act2, it's basically the same input in Tact, just changing one axes, correct?)

And if I indicate Fe++ will it also know to use minerals with Fe+++ in oxidizing conditions? I was concerned because I'm using the default thermo.dat database and since the Fe-S-O and S(aq) system includes redox couples, I wasn't sure if it would be better to use a different database, or if I should disable the redox couples?

Last question, (promise!) is GWB able to take into consideration different salinities if I include aqueous NaCl in the 'in the presence of' field? Or because I am specifying the activity of the basis species this won't work?

Sorry for all the questions, I can provide more info if necessary!

Hi Steph,

Not sure what you'll get out of plotting potassic-aluminosilicates on a fO2-pH diagram, but the first two plots you've described should be fine. Could you attach some screenshots, or maybe the .ac2 files (File - Save as...) so that I can take a look? If you tell me what you expect, or what you're trying to do, hopefully I can help you out.