Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Solubility contour

I am trying to do solubility contours for Pb and Zn (1 ppm and 100 ppm) in an activity-activity diagram and temperature-activity diagram showing the stability fields of iron oxides.

I have no issue doing a diagram that shows the stability fields.

However, is there a way to plot solubility contours on top of this?

Also, I see that all entries have to be activities, is there a way to enter values as ppm and/or moles.

I am new to GWB, so any help would be much appreciated

Coralie

Hi Coralie,

It sounds like you're using Act2 and Tact for your diagram construction, but I think what you need is Phase2, a new app we developed for GWB12. From the GWB Reaction Modeling Guide:

A Phase2 diagram differs from a simple diagram of the type constructed by Act2 and Tact in that each point in the diagram represents the complete solution to the equations describing the system’s distribution of mass. If you were to use Phase2 to calculate an Eh-pH diagram, for example, you would find that, unlike the result from Act2, the boundary lines are curved, rather than linear. Because of the calculation’s completeness, some Phase2 diagrams differ qualitatively from their Act2 counterparts. For this reason, the diagrams are sometimes referred to as “true” Eh-pH or “true” activity diagrams.

Phase2 diagrams, furthermore, can be plotted over a wide range of variable choices, and in a variety of ways.

You can plot the results of Phase2 calculations as maps of species predominance or mineral assemblages, and you can color map, mask, or contour any variable. You can additionally render cross-sections through the diagrams. Because a Phase2 calculation is conceptually similar to React, you can use any units to constrain your chemical system, and you can choose a variety of axis variables not possible in Act2 or Tact.