Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Rainwater-limestone-basalt reactions

Hi everyone! I am an undergraduate student who was recently introduced to the GWB software packages (mainly the Rxn module). I would appreciate some guidance on approaching this practice problem: how can I model the potential reactions when atmospheric CO2 reacts with rainwater over a limestone outcrop underlain by basalts?

Do you know how I can model this situation? Apart from knowing I'll need the React module, I am very much lost entirely. 

Thank you so much!

Hello,

It is rather difficult to give advice on what might be the most suitable. There are a couple of ways to incorporate gases into your system. If the CO2 is in equilibrium with the initial fluid, you can swap it for a component in the initial system and set the partial pressure or fugacity value. This will tell this program to calculate the corresponding dissolved concentration in fluid. If you are creating a CO2 rich fluid, you can simulate that with a titration path and then use the pickup feature to set that fluid as your starting point. Mineral reactions can be treated with the equilibrium approach or kinetically.