Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Act2 General Questions

Hello,

I am trying to recreate a figure from two papers that used Act2 to determine the stability fields of certain zeolites, both of which I have attached to this thread. I am very new to this program and was wondering if I could get some general questions answered. I've looked through the guides, and if I've missed the answers to these I apologize, but I was wondering:

1. What do the "diagram species" and "in the presence of" boxes refer to exactly? 

2. How do I add minerals to the database that I need for my research? I know analcime is in there, but it is missing phillipsite and chabazite. 

3. Is there anything I need to know when making these diagrams?

I know how to add in the x-y axis as they are in these figures, but when it comes to "diagram species" and "in the presence of" I'm not entirely sure what it means. Right now, I know that for my purposes Log a H2O = 1 and Log a SiO2 = -3.7. Does SiO2 go into the "in the presence of" box? I am mostly interested in zeolites, and some authigenic feldspar, so I am just curious how those would fit into these diagrams with the inputs provided in Act2. 

Cappellettietal._2015.png

Langellaetal._2013.png

Hello Paige,

Here are a few quick suggestions to help you get started:

With the "diagram species" selection, you choose the main species for which you want information. In this field, you can choose to select an aqueous species, mineral, or gas to diagram. The "in the presence of" field is used to modify the form of the main species by adding species and minerals that the main species can react with.