Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Need help recreating this speciation diagram

Hello everyone. I'm new to GWB and am attempting to recreate a diagram that was made in my lab years ago. Essentially, I am looking to develop a plot (see attached) of the speciation of Cu(II) as a function of sulfate concentration. I know that this plot was made in Excel but the data derived from GWB. Once I figure this out I'm also hoping to do the same thing with Zn(II). It seems like it shouldn't be too difficult, but I'm struggling to find guiding resources as most plots are speciation varied by pH. If someone could explain what program in GWB they would use and how to input that data and avoid charge errors, it would be extremely helpful. Thanks for your time!

Screen Shot 2021-11-18 at 8.50.56 AM.png

Hello Emma,

Most speciation diagrams like this are created in the React application, available in the GWB Standard and Professional packages. I am guessing that the user set a reaction path to titrate sulfate into your system and see how the concentration of Cu-complexes and free Cu(II) change over the course of the addition. By the way, if you set up a React simulation described above, you can directly generate the diagrams in Gtplot and don't need to render the diagram separately in Excel if you just want to plot in common concentration units (i.e. mmol/kg, molal, etc). If you would like more information on React titration paths, please look at section 3.1 Titration paths in the GWB Reaction Modeling User Guide. You can find this under the "Help" menu on any of the GWB applications or in the Docs pane of your GWB dashboard. If this is your first time using React, I would suggest reading through section 3 as a starting point. More information regarding Gtplot can be found in section 6 of the same user guide. 

If you aim to reproduce the diagram exactly, it would be very beneficial if you can find the input file that outputted the results used to make this diagram.