Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

X2t discharge units

Lucek

Hi ! . I am looking at X2t and I can't get my head around the discharge units. For example meters per day (or m3/m2/day). I went through the manual and cannot find a sensible answer. I am sure it is quite simple to explain, and as I am new to flow modelling, I just don’t get it. Anyone can help understand? but please in layman's terms

Hello,

The reactive transport model applications in the GWB carry flow in terms of specific discharge, which is also known as the volumetric flux. The volumetric flux is written in units of volume of fluid per area of your domain cross section per time. Because the units for volume are length cubed (cm^3) and area is length square (e.g. cm^2) , the simplification reduces the unit to length per time (e.g. cm/day).

In the GWB, you can prescribe discharge as a constant value or allow the program to calculate it according to Darcy's law. In the latter option, you would have to provide the program with the hydraulic potential across the domain, permeability, and the fluid viscosity. For more information on how flow rate is carried in the software, please see section 3.2 Setting flow rate in the Reactive Transport Modeling Guide. If you would like even more information, please refer to Chapter 20, Transport in flowing groundwater, in the Geochemical and Biogeochemical Reaction Modeling textbook. The text provides a more detailed explanation on the theory and application of reactive transport modeling along with many examples setup in the GWB. 

Hope this helps,
Jia Wang
Aqueous Solutions LLC

So will that be correct? my domain = x 1 km, y 1 km and z 2 m

discharge rate of the model from left is 25 m/year.

Therefore:

2e3 m area x 25 m/year = 5e4 m3/year = 5e7 k/year     

5e7 kg/year/3.1e7 sec = 1.61 kg/s? 

so my discharge in that domain would be 1.61 kg/sec or 5e7 kg/year 

cheers

L

Hello L,