Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Units for Radium

Hi! I'm just getting started with GWB and I'm entering a data set into GSS. When I enter radium, which is in pCi/L, I can't find that unit in GSS. What am I missing?

Also, I'm trying to understand the themo data sets. I found that the default data set didn't have cadmium, which I'm especially interested in. So I tried a different thermo data file and found one with radium but it didn't have data for some other analytes that the previous thermo data set did have. So am I  supposed to keep trying different thermo data sets until I find one that has data for all the analytes I'm trying to enter? 

Hello Gregg,

GSS contains a default list of common units for describing concentrations in water chemistry analyses. Radioactivity units are not among them. If you want to specify a unit for radioactivity you can set a user-defined analyte. To do so, go to "+ analyte" -> 'user analyte...' -> Edit. Enter a name for your analyte and then set the category to 'Chemical parameters' and the dimension to 'Radioactive emission'. The default unit will then be set to pCi/l. Please note that user analytes are not considered in chemical calculations. For more information, please refer to section 3.3.4 User Analytes of the GWB Essentials Guide.