Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Modelling help for simulating a injection of FeCl3 into deep saline formation water.

Hi there,

I am currently part of a project to determine the stability of various electrolytes whenever injected into different formation waters.

I would like to identify how the stability of FeCl3 varies across a range of pHs (2-9) at a set Eh values. This has worked for the model I've posted below for Eh values exceeding 0.3V but anything more reduced than that and the program doesn't run with the error:

Newton-Raphson didn't converge after 999 iterations, max residual =           0, Xi = 0.0000
Largest residual(s):
                       Resid     Resid/Totmol   Cbasis
---------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------

I'd like to be able to set the Eh value at more reducing conditions if possible and would appreciate any help regarding this.

Also, since I'm new to using GWB, if there are any errors I've made or improvements that you could suggest to more accurate represent the system I would greatly appreciate this also.

Thanks for the help!

Sam.

FeCl3 simulated injection.rea

Hello Sam,

When you are trying to run a simulation over such a wide range of Eh values at different pHs, you are going to be outside of the water stability limits. When you are going too far beyond the water stability limits, the program is going to have a difficult time with convergence. Since you are starting from the reduced endpoint, it can help the program by swapping in reduced species into the Basis, HS- for SO4--, CH4(aq) for HCO3-, etc. I managed to start at a more reduced point (~-.3 V) with better suited basis species swapped in. Alternatively, you can try starting at the oxidized end point by setting your Eh to 1 in the Basis and keep your species as they are, slide to a more reduced end point. You can also try turning off precipitation (Config -> Options) for simplifying this run.