Geochemist's Workbench Support Forum

Saturation indices of multiple samples in SpecE8

Hello, I am new to GWB, and I have the 2023 professional version.

Question 1:

I have a large dataset and I am trying to calculate saturation indices of my samples at once. It worked in GSS, however, I want to change the porosity  and other medium properties which is not possible in GSS. I can do this is SpecE8 but even with the multiple analysis method in the manual , I will still have to change the porosity and run one by one. I would really appreciate if you provide a script to do the calculation at once.

I found the similar question asked before , and answer included a link to a script from Rockware but the link is no longer active.

Question 2:

I tried applying the scripts in the reference Manual(page 65 and 122) and I am getting the message "history substitution failed". what could be going wrong ?

Question3:

If you have few full scripts for X1t that involve large dataset, please attach them if possible to learn for them. 

Thank you

Hello Rose,

Are you trying to provide the same porosity for every sample in your spreadsheet and then make calculations? If so, you can add trailer commands under the Analysis -> Options menu. For example, a command for setting the porosity to 0.8 would look like "porosity = 0.8". Additional commands for each GWB application can be found in the GWB Command Reference. If you are looking to assign different properties (such as porosity) for each sample before the speciation calculation, you can add to commands like above to control scripts and set the value using the data from the text file you provide.